Ikool’s Blogbed

No products showing on WP e-commerce’s (3.6.6) “Products Page” even there are a few added

Installed wordpress 2.5.1 out of the box, and have it running for quite sometime. Installed WP e-commerce 3.6.6 yesterday, and added a new product group and a few new categories while leaving the default categories and brand untouched, everything works fine so far except that you can’t really delete the newly added categories. As a side note, the “Product Groups” page is confusing and not self-explaining, hope someone will put a meaningful explanation or help on the page.

Then added a few products and associated them with the new product categories, and go to “Products Page”, all I see is:

Category Loading Updating…
There are no items in this category.

I figured out that the plugin is only showing these products which are belonging to the “Default Category” (which is 1 in my installation, you can set it to a different category if you have added yours) when rendering “[productspage]“, however, my products are assigned to different category, therefore, the “Products Page” won’t show anything. That’s why they won’t show up in the page. However, I can’t make any modifications to the code to fix it (I would call this “hack” since it may just work locally). So I will try to find a solution from the plugin provider. I will post the solution once I find it. Please let me know if you have any good solution, thanks.

By the way, I’d like to mention other articles which helped me a lot on figuring out the issues, that is Part 1 – PHP Remote Debugging with Eclipse PDT and Part 2 – PHP Remote Debugging with Eclipse PDT, I highly recommend you to give it a try

June 12, 2008 - Posted by | WP E-Commerce | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

    I have created an image that will hopefully help you in the interim.

    Would the text I added into the image above suffice?

    Also you can’t delete the Categories Group at the moment because it is always the default group – for now you will have to rename it.

    Please can you email tom@instinct.co.nz about this. He’s happy to help – that said Friday is almost over here in NZ so we might not be able to get around to it until Monday morning.

    But I do agree more text is needed.

    Ciao,

    Dan

    Ciao,

    Dan

    Comment by getshopped | June 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. Getshopped,
    Thanks for your reply, the image looks great and enough. However, my page looks so different from yours, here is the image . I guess something is not quite working right.

    Comment by ikool | June 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. Thanks for showing me that image. That is not “quite” what we wanted things to look like when we released that feature. It certainly it not how it looks for us šŸ˜›

    So I guess my next question would be is that using Internet Explorer, Firefox, or Safari?

    Ciao,

    Dan

    Comment by Dan Milward | June 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. I am using firefox, I saw the similar issue on IE too

    thanks

    Comment by ikool | June 15, 2008 | Reply

  5. By the way, this issue was fixed as I mentioned in another post Incorrect URLs for images, css and js files in Products page of WP e-commerce plugin

    Comment by ikool | June 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

