Ikool’s Blogbed

Embed Video/Audio in WordPress 2.5.1

I have been looking for a powerful wordpress audio/video player for long time, I am presently using Audio player for my audios, it turns out decently. I also tried to get vodpod and coolplayer to work for my videos, it seems to me the setup is too much. And I just noticed that WordPress has media support moment ago by playing around with ikool.wordpress.com (this blog) and WordPress 2.5.1, it works pretty well. And I just check WordPress FAQ, there are plenty of instructions as listed below:

Is it amazing?

I also notice that many people are looking for plugins for videos and audios, pretty much like what I was doing and I hope this helps them. One more suggestion is what’s supported in WordPress probably is good enough for your use unless the types of your audios/videos are very special

UPDATE @06/24/2008: insert youtube links won’t work the way it’s supposed to be

June 17, 2008 - Posted by | audio, How Tos, Video | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. It works fine here. You may be just unlucky and experience some sorts of outage while you were viewing. Try it again.
    If it still doesn’t work for you, I may just copy the content over

    Comment by ikool | June 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. Howard might be trying to say something else. On wordpress.com, clicking the “add video” icon insert this code: . But in the public domain wordpress version 2.5.1 from wordpress.org, this code is inserted: [a href=’http://youtube.com/watch?v=zhXFSzymkfo’ ]watch?v=zhXFSzymkfo[/a] (the square brackets are actually the standard HTML lt and gt symbols) and that doesn’t play the video inline but leads to the youtube site.

    Comment by oriste | June 24, 2008 | Reply

  3. Oriste,
    Thanks for pointing it out. It’s true that 2.5.1 doesn’t do that work

    Comment by ikool | June 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

